Video

First Move as New Director: A Grant!

Hello Subterranean Followers! My first move as New Director is applying for the DISCRIT // 89 PLUS Rebaudengo Serpentine Grant 2013. The prize is a little over $20,000 and would help me make a lot of things possible.

There are two grants being awarded, one by a jury and the other by popular vote. I would use this grant to help keep SUB running, completely revamp our web presence, and make it so that the artists I collaborate with can use the funding to make outstanding exhibitions.

$20,000 is quite a lot of money, so I plan for it to get used in other places. You may or may not know, while taking over Subterranean I am also working on a blog for the Kansas City art scene called Informality. I would like to make a blog similar to Bad at Sports and Hyperallergic to showcase the work and dialogue of Kansas City’s artists, writers, and thinkers. I want be able to PAY all contributors and editors for the work they do. I want to make sure we value the time and effort of contributors as it is going to expand the reach of our community.

Right now, I absolutely cannot afford to make these two projects happen on my own.

I want to be able to put as much work as humanly possible into this blog and the programming efforts I am going to make at Subterranean Gallery this coming year.

VOTE SO THIS CAN BE POSSIBLE!

Its a pretty easy process, simply follow this link:
http://dismagazine.com/discrit89plus/users/profile/105

Click “Login to vote for this artist” and create a “save and fave profile” once you have registered, paste the link again in the address bar and click “vote for this artist”

Thank you in advance for your support and I look forward to continue working closely with this fantastic community.

Best,
Melaney

Leave a Reply

